Whole 30: Completed!


Whole30: Recap

Well, I did it. 30 whole days with no grains, no sugar, no dairy, no legumes, Etc. Wow. Honestly….6 months ago, if you had told me I could and WOULD do this, I would have told you to check yourself into a looney bin, cause there was NO way! No.Way.

But, I did it. And I think it was made easier by the fact that I was eating mostly paleo for 3 months prior. “Mostly” is generous. I had cut out bread and pasta and rice, but was still eating desserts and dairy and some grains here and there.

I posted on the Whole30 website earlier today, some of my experiences with the program.

1). Weight- I lost 5 pounds. This is good for me. I didn’t count any calories, and I really didn’t watch my portion sizes, and to be honest… I probably ate too many nuts. When I started this program, I decided that my first Whole30 I wanted to focus on cutting out all of the wrong things, and keeping or adding in all of the right things. My 2nd Whole30 will focus on the proportions of all of the right things. I didn’t take my measurements, but all of my clothes are loser, some of my pants to the point of rediculousness.

2) Strength-I feel strong. You know how you feel when you haven’t been working out, and you can just feel you self softening up? I don’t feel that way. I did a little bit right before my period, but I’m chalking that up to time of the month bloating. I didn’t notice much of a faster recovery time after training, but I did notice that I was able to move up to heavier weights in just about all of my kettlebell sessions.

3) My relationship with food—the big one. I am and always have been an emotional eater. When I was emoting and eating at the same time…I always reached for sugar. Being able to resist sugar, and just see it for what it is. A type of caloric substance. Neither good nor bad, not a solver of issues, not something that must.be.consumed. Not something to eat too much of, and then hide that behavior from others. Not something to grab out of the office candy dish on my way to a meeting. Not something to reach for when I am stressed out. Just…a thing. It’s huge. It’s huge for me that last night when my husband ordered dessert to go at our favorite restaurant. I didn’t eat it. Even though I only had a few hours of my Whole30 left. I didn’t immediately reach for it this morning. It was just in our fridge, doing the same thing as all of the other food…waiting for me to grab it when I chose to, not because I can’t control my sugar demons. Although, I am planning on having a few bits of it tonight as a treat. It’s flourless deconstructed german chocolate cake from this restaurant my favorite local restaurant. It is definitely on my Health/F-Off Scale.

4) I already posted about how the Whole30 affected some of my bodily functions.

So did it change my life? In a word: yes. It solidified a way of eating for me that I plan on continuing for the rest of my life. I woke up this morning, with the knowledge that I could now chose (and I suppose could have chosen on my Whole30 as well) any food that I wanted for breakfast. What did I have? Sweet potato and turkey hash scrambled with two eggs. I did cook my eggs in butter instead of coconut oil, but that is only because the coconut oil I bought most recently has a weird smell when I cook with it. I accidentally bought refined instead of un-refined. The butter hasn’t had an affect on me.

From here I plan on seeing if my body will tolerate minimal amounts of diary and grains. Not so I can add them in on a regular basis (ok maybe butter and cream—but only in recipes), but so I can chose how what foods to eat and enjoy when I feel like eating something that isn’t part of my normal routine. I like getting frozen yogurt with fruit and nuts as a weeknight treat with my husband, and I like cheese. Lord help me, I LOVE cheese. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a really good caprese salad on a summer evening? Yum.
I really didn’t want to use Whole30 as just a weight loss tool, or just a “thing” I was doing for 30 days, only to go back to the S.A.D diet. It’s a way of life now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whole 30: Completed!

  1. Natalie says:

    Wow, that is amazing! You are to be commended. I don’t know if I could do it!

  2. Jenna says:

    I just read several of your posts on this. What I love most about the Paleo diet is that it is a genuine lifestyle change with weight loss as a side effect. I disagree with it b/c of religious beliefs otherwise I would try it but it does great things for people including you, and its so much better than all of the fad diets out there.

Leave a Reply

