Keepin’ regular

So, remember this post where I mentioned that we are doing this “weight” loss challenge at work?

Well, part of the challenge includes mini-challenges. Either physical or nutritional. Last week was a physical challenge. We were supposed to record how many push-ups we could do. Fine. There are no points for doing the most, you win points by having all of the members of your “tribe” (seriously? Who picked the Survivor theme? That got old by 2003) participate.
Well…this week..the challenge is nutritional. Today, I recieved our “treemail” (the weekly newsletter put out by the wellness comittee leader) and in it, our weekly challenge. Each team member is supposed to eat 30 grams of fiber per day, and at the end of the week email their team leader their totals.
This lovely piece of literature was also emailed to everyone:

I ask you, what the hell is “branola bread?” This flier really kills me. I have been sitting here all day, trying to formulate some coherent thoughts, so I could post about them. Turns out, one of my favorite new bloggers, Liz at Cave Girl Eats already did it for me in this post.

I know that each and every time we have a nutritional challenge for this “Survivor” business…i’m going to roll my eyes, but play along anyway. I guess my real problem with this, is that there is not educational component. Participants are just sent a flier giving them a few fiber counts of food. If our goal, to win the challenge is to eat 30 grams of fiber, what is too people from eating two bowls of Fiber One, and calling it a day? After-all..they met their goal!

Today I have had 17 grams of fiber (breakfast, snacks, and lunch) all from plant sources. The Chicken and veggie stir fry that I have tonight for dinner will probably get me close to 30, but might not quite get me there. Do I then fail? For eating healthy?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Keepin’ regular

  1. Casey says:

    C’mon, you could hit Costco and make yourself up a medley of 1 cup raspberries, 1 cup blackberries, 1 cup blueberries, and 1 cup sliced strawberries and have that for breakfast and lunch each day. Finish it off with a mid-afternoon snack of 1 carrot and 1 bell pepper and you’ve got 30! Of course, by about day 3, you’ll have the trots like a black bear getting ready for hibernation…

    The perils of a challenge such as this amoungst your average SAD-dieting pre-Type 2 workplace. I wouldn’t have the energy to bother…either participating or stewing over the crap they’re using for challenges. But that’s me I guess.

    • slowmiles says:

      Haha. True!
      As for the energy to particpate…I hear ya on that. I feel that way already…it’s that my competitive nature and love for friendly ribbing in the work place always get the better of me!
      πŸ™‚

  2. CaveGirlEats says:

    Love it! Thanks for the shout-out…and I echo the tagline Casey used…”your average SAD-dieting pre-Type 2 workplace.” Ain’t it the truth. Truly, nobody would even be TALKING about hammering your body with fiber if they just ate REAL FOOD. Same thing goes for multivitamins (duh) and even WATER to a degree. When I eat RF, I’m much less chronically thirsty.

    My dog used to chug water like it was goin’ outta style, and now that he eats raw (VERY high water content) I couldn’t force him to drink it. But he still potties like normal. All right, now I’ve said too much πŸ™‚

    • slowmiles says:

      Interesting info about your dog. We still feed our dog dry dog food…but it makes sense. I’ll have to see if I can convince my husband to give feeding the dog raw a try!

Leave a Reply

