She’s so….heavy.


This week I don’t have kettlebell training (sniff, sniff) so I have been forced to go the gym. At first I wasn’t stoked on this idea, but I gradually came around, as my husband said that he would go with me, and as I went longer and longer between workouts that involved weights, the more and more I didn’t care what kind of weights I was lifting…as long as they were heavy.

We went last night, and I had a great time! I think it was mostly the endorphin rush, but I was also pretty impressed with my improvements in strength in the last year.

When I started working out to lose weight 4 years ago, I used pretty light weights for everything. I don’t think I did any exercises with anything over 15 pounds. I know when I was utilizing the gym as my only form of strength training last year, before I started kettlebell training, I was using 12.5 pound dumbbells to do shoulder presses. I remember this, because my shoulders were particularly weak. Last night I did those same shoulder presses with 20 pound dumbbells.

Also, since my husband was with me, I wanted to test my self on the bench press and see what I could do. I haven’t tried a max rep in a llooooooong time. Like, since PE class in high school. I did the bench work at the end of my workout, and maxed out (is that even the right terminology?) at 125 pounds. I was pretty proud of my self! I know that for what I weigh (which, is PLENTY more than 125 pounds), I could do better. I am going to try to see what I can max at before my workout (and don’t worry…after a warm-up) on Wednesday, and then I’m going to make increasing my bench press amount part of my 2011 goals!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She’s so….heavy.

  1. Stephanie J. says:

    You are so intense – I LOVE IT!

    I haven’t done a bench press in years and can’t imagine just how weak I have become not working out lately. I am so proud of you! I’ve always loved a good free weight session but I believe I use too low of weights as well.

    Rock on girl 🙂

    • slowmiles says:

      Steph,
      You should check out the following book: “The Female Body Breakthrough” by Rachel Cosgrove. I just got done reading it, and she advocates for heavy weight lifting and short metabolic type workouts. Quite fascinating.

Leave a Reply

