They will never know…I hope!

Today is our department Christmas party. We are having a potluck. I brought brownies.
See?

I am going to write a cookbook called "Ugly Food that Tastes Good"

Here’s the thing….they are grain free, and sugar free. Well refined sugar.
I found the recipe on the internet last week, and I absolutely can not remember what blog I found it on. I think it was on Food Renegde in a round up post.

I am hoping that these are gooey and tasty and don’t taste like black beans. Because….that is what’s in them! I sort of want to shout from the roof top my cubicle “See…healthy food can taste good!”
But…I don’t actually know how they taste! hahaha.

These are the ingredients (I am doing this from memory and feel like maybe I’ve missed something):
1 can black beans (no salt added, and then rinsed)
3 eggs lightly beaten
1/2 cup honey
1/3 (or maybe it was 1/4) cup cocoa
2 tsp vanilla
dash salt
dark chocolate chips

I combined all the ingredients in my food processor (aside from the chocolate chips) and pureed. Then I poured into an 8 by 8 baking pan, and added the chocolate chips.
Baked for 30 minutes at 350.

Here’s hoping they dont taste too much like beans!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to They will never know…I hope!

  1. I’ve heard of the famous black bean brownies a few times but haven’t tried them yet. I love black beans though; so, I’m pretty sure I’d like them… if I ever want anything sweet again after the sweet treat festival this week has been.

    Just found your blog today through your comment about sugar at Carrots n Cake. Glad I found it.

    • slowmiles says:

      Michelle,
      Thanks for stopping by! Yeah, the brownies were actually pretty good! I meant to update that on my post. They aren’t too sweet, but they are uber gooey which is nice (I liked my baked goods gooey!).

Leave a Reply

