7 things…

What I’ve learned from Clean/Primal Eating
1.I do NOT need bread to be happy. I honestly thought I would never be able to not eat bread. Toast, sandwiches, rolls….etc. But I don’t really miss it. I do think that there is bread out there worth splurging on (at least at this point), I have in mind this particular local bakery that sells bread at our farmers market….but as for store bought, sliced bread? I don’t miss it at all.

2.Sugar = the white devil. I always knew I had a sweet tooth, and new of sugar’s power over me, but I’d never really imagined my life with out it. I guess this was sort of like bread, I always assumed that I couldn’t “quit” sugar.

3.My body and mind are more powerful than I thought. This is a result from the first two. I really honestly believed that I couldn’t live life with out carbs and sugar. Which is sort of hypocritical of me. I used to be a vegetarian, and I would scoff at people who told me they could never “live with out meat.”

4.Coconut is one of God’s most amazing creations. Seriously, coconut oil, coconut milk, coconut flour? LOVE THEM ALL. I am sort of in the middle of a coconut obsession, so I guess it’s good that coconut is so good for us.

5.Real food is where it’s at. I already knew this. I did. But I still ate lots of pre-packaged foods. Don’t get me wrong, at times I still do. Canned tomatoes? Yes. Larabars in a time crunch? Yes. Boxed macaroni and cheese (even though it’s organic and has a cute bunny on the label)? No.

6.Food really does dictate how you feel. Until I cleaned up my eating, I had NO IDEA how sluggish and crappy I felt every day. I thought that a cup of coffee to go get going in the morning was something I really needed. Now? Assuming I didn’t have pasta and cookies for dinner, I wake up feeling refreshed and ready to go. Coffee is now something to be enjoyed for it’s flavor..not for mainling to function.

7.Life is too short to eat cheap chocolate (and other cheap desserts). I know that is Such.A.Cliche. but so true! Now that I am more discerning about what sugar/carbs/treats I am going to partake in, I really don’t want anything to do 99% of the junk food you can buy in the store!

So, I really wanted to make a list of 10 things…but got stuck at 7. I feel like other things I’ve learned are all really just different iterations or expansions on the above ideas.

Anyone have anything to add?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7 things…

  1. Natalie O says:

    So true! When i eat better my mood & energy improves alot…need to keep that going 🙂

Leave a Reply

