Points for Pounds: The Finale

Don’t forget to check out Steph’s blog.

href=”https://slowmiles.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/apple-logo-fruit-salad.jpg”>

Official Weigh In:
Week 1-September 3: +2.2
Week 2-September 10: -3.0
Week 3: September 17: + 0.6
Week 4: September 24: +/- 0
Week 5: October 1: -0.4
Week 6: October 10: -3.8
Week 7: October 15: +0.6
Week 8: October 24: +1.8
Week 9: October 29: +/- 0
Week 10: November 5: -1.4
Week 11: November 12: + 1.4

Um. Right. I don’t know.

So, about points for pounds…..I need to come clean. I haven’t been tracking points for almost two weeks. Last week I talked about lowering my carbs, and I had a loss. This week I thought I was still lowering carbs and I gained back that loss. I don’t know why, nor do I really care. It’s not worth it to me to analyze it, and then not change my behavior. I gained, life goes on.

But…I say all that to say, that life is going on in a new direction. Wednesday during KB class our instructor challenged us all to a two week “clean eating challenge.” Starting yesterday, and ending the Wednesday before thanksgiving. Well..I love a challenge..and even though I really really love carbs and desserts…I figure it couldn’t hurt. And in reality, if is does hurt, or if I felt mal-nourished…I’m all about eating what I need to take care of my body. Note to self.. no one NEEDS donuts.
So..what are these two weeks going to look like?
Avoiding-
Sugar
Grains
Dairy
Fried Foods
Beans
Vegetable oil.

Approved Foods:
Proteins-Chicken, Beef, Fish, Pork, Eggs, Egg Whites, Protein Powder
Vegetables-All approved
Fruits-Berries only (O.M.G. all I want is an apple. GIVE ME FRUCTOSE).
Carbs-Sweet Potatoes, Yams, Brown Rice, Wild Rice.

Cooking with: Coconut Oil, Olive Oil, and Organic Butter
Only WATER has a beverage (gah….me.want.coffee…)

This plan comes from a longer 4 week plan, in weeks 3 and 4 you add back in fruits and certain carbs.
My KB instructor told us about this plan months ago and I blew it off….I think my quote to her was “Give Me Carbs or Give Me Death!” But, what can it hurt really? Worse thing that happens is I lose weight and then gain some back. I am thinking (after thanksgiving) that I will follow this plan…but maybe a little more “primally.”

I am going to blog more frequently about this, then I did with WW, how I’m feeling…cravings…being on a “diet” for the first time in my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Points for Pounds: The Finale

  1. Casey says:

    I’d skip the egg whites and stay with whole eggs only, be careful what’s in your protein powder (often casein or whey, both of which are dairy), and avoid the brown and wild rice for the lectins (anti-nutrients) contained in their outer hulls and their empty calories/carbohydrate load. Keep the olive oil for oven roasting/cooking at lower temps (to prevent oxidation), and use the coconut oil (or some high quality pork fat from a pastured source – try a local farmer’s market or small butcher shop) for pan cooking…or just eating a spoonful of every now and again (especially the coconut oil YUM!). 🙂 Kerry Gold is a good brand of butter to look for, albeit a little pricey.

    Don’t call it a “diet” – this is pretty close to the primal/paleo lifestyle, and if you’re serious about giving that a shot after Thanskgiving, then this is a good start. Stick with it for more than two weeks, and you might find yourself not even missing some of the stuff you’re getting rid of… I know I don’t miss about 95% of it.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

