Points for Pounds: Week 10


Don’t forget to check out Steph’s blog to see how she is doing on her journey. Also, don’t forget to wish her a Happy Birthday this week!

Well color me surprised. I was NOT expecting to see the number what showed up on the scale this morning. A 1.4 pound loss!!

Official Weigh In:
Week 1-September 3: +2.2
Week 2-September 10: -3.0
Week 3: September 17: + 0.6
Week 4: September 24: +/- 0
Week 5: October 1: -0.4
Week 6: October 10: -3.8
Week 7: October 15: +0.6
Week 8: October 24: +1.8
Week 9: October 29: +/- 0
Week 10: November 5: -1.4

So…what did I do differently? I watched my carbs this week. I have never, ever paid attention to the amount of carbs I was eating, other than to make sure that I didn’t eat ONLY carbs (I did that for a while in college….when I first became a vegetarian…it was bad news). As I mentioned in last week’s post, I have been reading into “Primal” living/eating. I have not jumped into the primal movement head first, but instead have tentatively dipped in a foot.

This week I ate way more protein than I normally do about 100-120 grams per day, which isn’t really even that much. According to sparkpeople.com I could eat up to 170.

Here is what I ate yesterday-
Breakfast- 3 eggs, 1 piece of toast with butter
AM snack- 1 orange
Lunch-half a cucumber, 3 mini (not baby carrots, they were just small–like 2.5 inches) carrots, 1 chicken sausage, 1 snack size tortilla (about 5 inches in diameter), half an avocado, and a small piece of brownie
PM snack-a clif bar and a string cheese.
Dinner-Out at my favorite restaurant-1 side salad with pears, pecans, tomatoes and dressing on the side, 2 ounces braised pork cheeks, fingerling potatoes, and green beans.
Then…the finale—split a flourless chocolate torte with coconut chiffon with the husband.
Whew. That was some good eating yesterday. Honestly….after our dinner…I thought for sure I would see a gain…but I didn’t!

Last night’s dinner was an exception to my week, the other days this week I ate a protein and vegetables for dinner. I did have ice cream one night, and the other nights when I was craving dessert I had some dried dates and pecans.

So…now what? I don’t know. I think I’m going to keep eating the level of carbs I did this week…and keep exploring the possibility of “going primal!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Points for Pounds: Week 10

  1. Casey says:

    Don’t be afraid to dive headfirst in to Primal eating. It has made a huge difference in both my wife and I for energy level, strength, and leanness (forget the scale, especially at first – pay attention to strength and your physical shape because that muscle is way heavier than fat!). And you don’t have to go nuts with weighing/measuring but rather stick to the right foods and eat until you are full. Looks like you are on a good track for fitness already (KB’s are wicked and addicting, aren’t they?).
    Glad you found our blog, and I’ll make sure to stop in and see how you’re doing with things over here too!

    • slowmiles says:

      Casey,
      Thanks for your words of encouragement. KB’s are sooo addictive, I love them. I meant to also put in my comment on your blog, that I made your chicken salad with avacado for lunch today. It was seriously good!

Leave a Reply

