are you tough enough?

Everyone, go to this website right now. Tough Mudder.

Did you look at the website? For those of you who didn’t, it’s a link to a race series titled “Tough Mudder.” And…i’m thinking about doing it.
I should have titled this post…”are you insane?”.
About a week ago my friend Elise and I were chatting on the phone. She told me about the race (but called it an “obstacle course run in the mud” which is downplaying it a bit) and asked me if I would be interested. I’d recently had a friend complete a “Warrior Dash” and I said “Sure! Send me the link.”
Famous.Last.Words.

I checked out the link in the morning and I think my email to Elise said just this “Are you insane?”
But…through alot of convincing…I’m considering it. My biggest hurdle is obviously the distance. If you’ve read my blog for any length of time, you know that this started out as a running blog, for when I was training for a half marathon. I ended up with pretty brutal shin splints, and self-diagnosed my self with stress fractures, and quit running. That was 6 months ago. I have not run a step since.

So I told Elise that I needed to “feel out my shins,” and that I would get back to her. Well…I ran on Thursday, and I ran on Sunday. Just a little bit, probably only for 15 minutes combined. And I stretched and I iced, and I did shin exercises.

And…I think I’m going to do it.

I’m insane.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to are you tough enough?

  1. Stephanie says:

    You and your famous last words!!!!

Leave a Reply

