Tongue Tied


So, I’ve been sitting here at my desk, trying to come up with a post working, and I’ve got nothing. So I tried to brainstorm what I should write about. Fitness? Nah-nothing new to report, I have kettlebell today at noon. Food? Nah-that is pretty much covered in my Friday blog posts. And then I had nothing.

And I think it comes from not knowing what I want my blog to be. Do I want it to be a brain dump of anything and everything? And does anyone even read those blogs? Of course they do, some of the most successful blogs are formatted that way. What makes them successful is that the writing is fantastic. So maybe it doesn’t matter what I write, as long as the writing is good.

I had a college professor (my best and favorite professor, who also happened to be cute) who once told me “Don’t share crap.” The class was Wilderness Therapy for Personal Growth (I.loved.my.major.), and we were discussing how to facilitate groups, and how to be part of a group discussion/debriefing. His point, was don’t say something to just say something. Sit and be thoughtful, and then share your relevant/helpful/deep/moving whatever thoughts.

So today I am going to sit and be thoughtful, and hopefully tomorrow I’ll have something to share that isn’t crap.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tongue Tied

  1. Krissie says:

    I guess I’m a brain dump. And I love that. It’s who I am. Did I ever set out to have abrain dump blog? Nope. It’s all up to you. And what you want to put out there. and I’m amazed at how many times I sit down to write about nothing and end up saying something significant in the end.

    It’s all about what you want your blog to be. Write when you feel like writing. It’s why I love blogs so much. Because we have total contro over frequency and content.

    Have fun with the kettlebells!

Leave a Reply

