Hasta La Vista Hormones!


So, I’ve been considering quitting “the pill.” NOT to get pregnant. But because…..well…..you know those side effects they warn you about? I’m over them. Not the serious ones like blood clots and brain hemorrhages…..but the ones that no one really talks about. The crazy. The crying. The lack of….um….sex drive. The weight gain. Those ones.

I’ve been on hormonal birth control for 6 continuous years. I have plenty of friends who go on and off the pill based on their relationship status. I went on the pill and threw condoms out the window as soon as my husband (then boyfriend) and I were committed.
I’ve never really had an issue taking the pill, until about 3 years ago when I was on formula that made me certifiable. I cried at everything. EVERYTHING. It was terrible. I switched to the nuvaring and had no interest in sex, I switched back to the pill and all of a sudden have 8 day periods…WTF.

So….I’ve been researching non-hormonal methods. IUD-eh….not sold on it. Still feels like an invasion/perversion of how my body was meant to be and function. Condoms alone, all the time? Expensive and annoying. Diaphragm and spermicide? Also annoying and increased change of infections. Ugh.

I then read on Caitlin’s blog about her thoughts on this same process, and about the book “Taking Charge of your Fertility.”
I recently picked it up from the library and it.is.fascinating. It’s basically the sex ed. we all SHOULD have learned.

I talked it over with my husband, and he is supportive of me quitting the pill and using the Fertility Awareness Method for birth control. He is ok with using condoms for a few days each month, etc. I was quite surprised at his reaction, as we are NOT on the baby track at this time. But….if it happened, it would not be the crisis it once was. At all. We have jobs, we have insurance, we are adults (scary!). I would never have considered this in my early twenties. But now? Even though I’m still scared and might take my pills for one more month while I think it over…… I think I’m ready to take the plunge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hasta La Vista Hormones!

  1. I use natural planning method and have for 6 years! I got off the pill in 2004 and didn’t like any of the other options as well. I tried the cervical cap, it was uncomfortable. Spermicide made me itch. Diaphragm wasn’t an option cause I didn’t like the cervical cap. IUD’s were too invasive and plus, a few friends have them and their periods last longer and are more painful the first two years. And good news…not pregnant. Not once! It takes diligence but I’m happier than ever!

    • slowmiles says:

      hahaha. I so wish that I would have brought this up to you last night, because I’ve been dying to talk to someone about it who has done it! I mean, Scott is great in being supportive, but it’s not like I can say “cervical fluid” to him…ya know?

  2. Nicole says:

    This book and method of birth control saved my life!!! The book is, like you said, the sex ed we all should have. I had major health issues ( like all the bad ones they say are “rare”) associated with the pills I took for 8 too many years. My husband is supportive and it seems to work. Not pregnant in 3 years. Recommend it to anyone women/couple etc… searching for non-psychotic non-invasive methods of birth control.

Leave a Reply

