skinnygirl?

So, you all want to know something embarrassing? I L.O.V.E bad tv. I think it comes from my mom not allowing me to watch MTV as a child (when there was actually music videos on, you know…and Bevis and Butthead and of course, Real World).
But, anyway, I love the “Real Housewives” series. I think I like New York best of all. And New Jersey…those ladies are CRAZY.

Anyway, a few months ago I purchased Clean Eating Magazine and each month they have a list of books to try. Bethenny Frankel’s book, Naturally Thin was one of the books they reviewed.
I don’t buy books unless I know that I will love them (like anything written by Jodi Piccoult, love), so I put a hold on it at the library. Speaking of, isn’t the library like the best invention ever? Making it free for people to read and learn…fantastic.

So, I got the notification in my email that the book was available for pick up right before I left for vacation, perfect.

I really wanted to like it, and hoped that Bethenny’s writing was so funny and smart. But….I didn’t love it. I didn’t hate it either.

The book is basically a no-nonsense guide to intuitive eating. Although, it doesn’t have any hippy-dippy-love-your-self stuff. She does say to be kind to your self, but she presents in such a….Bethenny type way.

Some of her “lessons” that I liked:
-Cancel your membership to the clean plate club

-Slow down and enjoy your food (I’m paraphrasing here).

-Eat mindfully—as in, if you had French toast for breakfast, make sure to add in some protein at lunch.

Some things that I wasn’t a fan of:
-she wasn’t too focused on the importance of getting protein, fat, and carbs at each meal. I think this imperative, but maybe I think that because that is what the diet/nutrition industry tells me?
-As I said, I was on vacation while reading the book, and was NOT eating normally. Eating out everyday, enjoying a lot more good beer, and umm….plenty of delicious food at a wedding and even a midnight order of pizza. And while reading her book, I felt guilty. Even though her book isn’t meant to guilt readers into healthy eating, quite the opposite infact.

Would I recommend it to someone? Maybe.
I would recommend her cookbook though, I got that from the library too, and it is a really great fundamental cook book with some healthy recipes. I might even buy it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to skinnygirl?

  1. slovie64 says:

    I love Bethenny too, but don’t plan on reading her book. She’s a chef, and I think naturally thin. Therefore, why should I follow her diet advice?

Leave a Reply

