Just Because

Photo by Tamara Kenyon Photography

Happy 4th of July everyone!

A few days ago Scott and I had photos taken for…well…not for any reason.

A few months ago my SIL and BIL had family pictures taken with their infant son. I was lamenting to my SIL that we don’t have any “major” life events going on…so there isn’t any reason for us to have professional pictures taken, but that I wish there was.
We never got engagement photos (we were BROKE) and our wedding pictures were quite frankly, horrible.

I found Tamara Kenyon Photography via a co-worker who had used her for maternity/newborn photos and I looked up her website.

Last thursday we spent almost 2 hours in downtown boise shooting photos. The one above is the sneak peak she sent me, and I can’t wait to see more.

Honestly? I booked this session about a month ago and had wanted to lose weight before hand. Story of my life. “I will lose weigh by….X” and I never do. When she sent me this photo, the first thing I wanted to to was pick my looks apart. But I didn’t (other than my hair, I really wish I had it tucked behind my ear, but I think that is the sort of thing that only the subject pays attention too…well that and my hairdressers), I thought about how much fun I had on the photo shoot, and how much I love my husband, and how damn cute we look in this photo.

I have to remind myself, it’s about embracing life NOW. Not 10..15..30 pounds from now. NOW.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Because

  1. I LOVE your idea. I’ve been thinking of doing the same thing recently because we didn’t do engagement photos and our wedding photos were disappointing as well. 😦 You know me, I’m a huge picture person…..I “documented” so many of the weddings I’ve been to/in for the couple getting married and always send the CD after the big event. I should’ve asked someone to do that for me — as I feel like so many special moments were missed! UGH! But, I’m trying not be upset anymore because there is definitely nothing I can do to fix it….. 🙂

    You know who is an amazing photographer (but lives in the SF area now)? Marielle (McCombs) Hayes. She is my friend on FB and is always posting pics from the weddings that shoots — they are absolutely incredible & very artsy/creative.

    I can’t wait to see the rest of your pictures!!!!!

    • slowmiles says:

      I’m so bummed for you that you were dissapointed in your photos! I was really upset with mine, she captured the “big” moments, but the quality was TERRIBLE. seriously.
      You should look into getting some “just because” pictures done…I like this one and can’t wait to see the rest! I’ll have to check out Marielle McCombs!

  2. Natalie says:

    We’ve randomly had our pictures taken every year since we got married and I have LOVED it. It appeals to the vain side in me. Yeah, I nit pick, but it is just so nice to see the emotion that some pictures can capture.

    I love this one of you!

Leave a Reply

