Resurfacing

So….I haven’t posted in…a week? Not posting is a direct result of two things:
a) work. Summer is my busy time, but march and early April are slammed with planning for being busy.
b) I haven’t gone for a run since last thursday. yes. it’s true.

so….why haven’t I run? Mostly because my genious friend Stephanie, and her comment on my previous post, regarding finding activities that focus on health for ME, which may just not be running.
I’ve thought about it, and I’ve determined what really drives me to want to BE a runner.
A) I’ve always seen runners as skinny, fit, healthy people (this started from a young age and continues today).
B) I feel like God created me to be able to walk and thus run. I feel like I should be able to do it, simply because I’m human.
Now….I realize that both reasons A and B are not realistic or how things are. I realize that one can be plenty fit and healthy and even skinny (even though I abandoned that as a goal a looooong time ago) with out being a runner. I also realize that God did give me the ability to run. I can run and If I ever needed to run (in an emergency for example) I could, but God did not give me the body that lends it’s self to long distance constant plodding on the pavement. I was born to be a gatherer…not a hunter.

So, with that being said, where does that leave me now? Well….I’m not going to sign up for my half marathon. My shins still sort of hurt in a way that is hard to describe…they ache at random times? But not related to a certain activity. I am still going to walk my dog every morning, because i like it, and because my dog deserves exercise too. I am going to continue taking Kettelbell class because it is A.MAZING. seriously. I feel so strong and it’s such a good workout. But the greatest bonus? My back feels amazing. I’ve had zero lower back pain since I started the class. When I went to the chiropractor this week, he said my back looked amazing and the muscle development in my lowerback was great.
So….I’m going to keep doing that. Right now I’m also doing cardio at the gym a couple of days a week.
I’m thinking of maybe taking a Zumba class or a yoga class this summer. Both are being offered to the public through my department….
I”m just exploring options at this point, and feeling even more comitted to my health and fitness overall…more so then when I was running 3x a week.

I don’t know what this means for a blog that was designed to follow me as I train for a half marathon. I will still be posting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resurfacing

  1. I am so inspired by your ability to “roll with the punches” and really take on your health 100%. However you choose to honor your body and fitness goals, I support you. And I am looking forward to your future writing and the direction your blog takes…keep it up girl!

  2. run4mymoney says:

    Ditto to everything that Stephanie said!

    It’s great that you are so in tune with your body. I’m sorry to hear the half-marathon is not going to work out right now. I hope you find an activity that is fun and rewarding, not painful. Shin splints and running injuries are no fun! I’m still a big fan and supporter of your next adventure, so please keep on writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

