spring, sprang, sprung

I’m so glad that spring is around the corner! But I am not impressed with the pitch black that engulfed me on my run this morning.Ugh. Give me day light or give me death! ok not really.

Today is a run day, I am repeating my anticipated schedule from last week due to not running all three days, and a desire to baby my shins just a bit more.
My run on Sunday was rough. I did 2.4 miles in 33 minutes (13.75 min/miles) and I walked more than my usual 3min run/ 1 min walk ratio. There were a few times when I just flat out walked, having decided that I was “done” running. This happened twice, and after two minutes of walking I would run again, but boy oh boy was I in PAIN! my shins hurt, my knees hurt, ugh. Not sure if my gait was just wierd or what….but it was not fun. I eventually went down to a 1 min run/ 1 min walk ratio, but still finished in decent time.–you know…for me. πŸ™‚

Today’s run was a bit better in the pain department. I didn’t have any shin pain, but my calf muscle did start to hurt (the one attached to the shin with the pain) it hurt like…next to my shin bone, but it was def. my muscle that hurt. Wierd. So I iced my shin and my calf muscle when I got home.
Run Stats:
Time: 30:33
Distance: 2.1 miles
Pace: 14.44 min/mile
Weather-38 degrees and windy. Wind is from Hell!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to spring, sprang, sprung

  1. Kelly says:

    So usually shin splints are caused when that muscle is over worked. As you strengthen that muslce it should get better. I don’t want to freak you out or anything…but have you thought of getting it checked out by a sports doctor?

    • slowmiles says:

      don’t worry…you didn’t freak me out or anything. πŸ™‚ I have thoughts about getting checked out by a sports doc, but to be honest…..i’m just hesitant to do it. I feel like they are going to tell me “rest and ice” or something that I think I already know. I sort of have a problem with authority! πŸ™‚

      So, I should re-read my post, but what about this post made you think “sports doc”? The fact that my muscle hurt?

  2. Simply Life says:

    I’m so happy spring is here! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

