Taste the Rainbow

So, remember when I said I was participating in my company’s wellness challenge? Within the challenge there are four mini challenges. The first was a mileage challenge. My team did not come close to winning (the bike cops really racked up the miles!), but I have a good feeling about this second challenge….the 5-a-day fruits and veggies challenge!

This is designed to motivate people to eat their five a day. We log our number of servings each day on thsi cute little chart, the goal is to eat a minimum of five, and you can only log a max number of 9 servings each day.

I like numbers, and statistics so I figured out that in our 21 day challenge I should eat AT LEAST 105 servings of vegetables and the most I could log would be 189. Well the challenge ends on Sunday and so far I’ve eaten 119 servings. I would have few more than that but at the beginning of this week the only thing I could stand to eat was peanutbutter and toast.

This was actually quite eye opening for me. I am a ROCKSTAR at fruits and veggies until Friday at 5pm, and then….it’s a crapshoot! I make an effort to have fruits and veggies all day every day during the work week, but I am a total SLACKER on the weekends. I knew that in my head, but seeing it graphically really drove home for me how important it is to keep up my good habits all the time.

The chart has also helped me to see how far I have come with my healthy eating habits in the past three years. When I first graduated from college and got married my eating habits were truly terrible. I know there were weeks when I might only have a few servings of fruits and veggies…a week! It’s so different now.
I enjoy going grocery shopping and seeing how much fresh produce is on our cart.

It makes me feel proud.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taste the Rainbow

  1. Kelly says:

    What an awesome challenege. I am definitely a good vegetable eater but I am terrible with fruits. I probably get like 10-12 servings of veggies a day but probably only 1/2-1 serving of fruit!!!

    • slowmiles says:

      I used to be the opposite of you…loved fruits…not so into veggies. Now I like em both! But I try to make sure that most of my 7-9 servings a day are veggies.

  2. run4mymoney says:

    Kudos to you for keeping up with the challenge! I’m trying really hard to learn to love veggies. I made homemade minestrone last week and just found myself eating all the noodles + beans and picking around the veggies. Arrrgh!

Leave a Reply

