Ice Ice Baby


Today I had a chirpractor appointment at 8:30–which meant that I got to sleep in, and run while the run was rising. Note, the above picture was not the sunrise I saw this morning!

So, after much thinking, and reading of comments… I decided that I should try running more than I have been….knowing that I’ve given my shins a good rest, and that my endurance was ok with, in fact begging, for me to run more than a mile. So..I decided to run the 2 miles using the Galloway method. This method combines running and walking and touts it as an effective training tool for runners of all levels–even FAST marathoners.

So, even though the Galloway website reccomended that I run for 1 minute and then walk for 1 minute, that seemed easy, and at the same time labor intensive–wouldn’t I have to look at my watch the whole time? I decided to run for 3 minutes and walk for 1…for the whole 2 miles.

Time: 29 minutes
Pace: 14.5 min/mils
Distance: 2 miles
Weather: 38 degrees and windy!

The outcome? My shins started to have a little bit of pain after my 3rd running cycle–so nine minutes of running. I figure that on my last run, I ran for about 14 minutes total (give or take since I didn’t use any sort of formal tracking device). I decided to keep running to see what happened. I ended up running for a total of about 21 minutes I think and walked for 8. My shins felt ok after that inital pain around minute 9 of running. I honesty thought I would have been a little faster, but I think I walked slower on those 1 minute walking breaks than I do when I am “power-walking.” I think I could have kept going though….so I’m going to try this method.

When I got home I stretched and iced my shins. I forgot to put my damp towels in the freezer, so I used a bag of frozen strawberries. I think I’m going to head to the drugstore on my lunch break to buy some reusable ice packs.

🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ice Ice Baby

  1. rundadrun says:

    Great post. You may have already been told, but I have found that toe raises do amazing things for shin splints. Google them to see how, and give it a try. They eliminated mine. Great job on upping the miles too.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

    • slowmiles says:

      I’ve been told about lots of exercises, but I don’t think toe raises specifically, I’ll have to check them out! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Kelly says:

    I got a smile picturing you post run with frozen strawberry bags on your shins! 🙂

  3. Elsa says:

    Hi! You commented on my comment on Skinny Runners blog – so glad to see you live in Boise too! I am looking forward to reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

