Recipe of the week: Cucumber Beef Stir Fry

Ok, I made this last week, but it was supposed to be for the week of Feb. 8th. Oops.
I also already made my new recipe for this week, and will post it on Friday and then we’ll be caught up. Woohoo..

So the recipe came from this cookbook:

My college roommate was given this book by her mom when we moved out of the dorms and into our first apartment. She did not use the book once, and didn’t take it with her when we graduated. Being unable to give any sort of book to the goodwill I kept it. I’ve used it once before, and while their aren’t many recipes, and some are VERY basic (like making grilled cheese) there are some good and slightly more “advanced” recipes.
This one was easy, but something new for me–

I started by marinating some beef in honey and soy sauce–

And cutting up the veggies (not pictured-garlic)

I then cooked the beef in my wok–a cheapie from Cost Plus World Market–but it gets the job done!

While that was burning cooking, I started some rice in our rice cooker. This is seriously one of the most useful and amazing kitchen gadgets ever.

After the beef was thoroughly cooked, I added in the veggies and cooked them until they were crisp tender. I served the whole bit over rice.

The verdict? This was pretty good! I liked that it was creating my own sauce instead of using one from the store. I’m not sure if I’ll make it again, as it gave my husband some….digestive issues. But I thought it was great.
I think I’m not going to keep this cookbook, but pass it along to either my brother who is learning to cook, or give it to the goodwill. It’s really a great how-to. Heck, does anyone want it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe of the week: Cucumber Beef Stir Fry

  1. Kelly says:

    That looks really good!!! I love anything “chinese food” inspired! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fresh Cucumber » Recipe of the week: Cucumber Beef Stir Fry « Slow Miles

  3. yummmm! this looks great! like something from P.F. Changs!

Leave a Reply

