training day

Ok, I don’t actually think healthy living is for suckers, but this made me laugh. I so feel this way on cardio machines, ESPECIALLY the treadmill.

So, today is Tuesday, and that means a run day! I decided yesterday that it’s time to get back to a regular training schedule. I’ve been doing the 2 mile run/walk thing, with varied bits of running…but I know that on Saturday I ran a little over a mile with no pain, so I decided it’s time to get organized again. I NEED the organization to move forward. I need a plan to motivate myself and achieve.

So, here is my “shin recovery” running plan. I will continue with the 2 mile course that I’ve been running, and I will gradually increase the running portion. Today I ran 1.1 miles. Tomorrow and Saturday I will run the same distances, and walk .9 each day…for a total of two miles. I’m then going to increase the running miles by 10% each week. Until I am running the entire 2 miles, and then increase my mileage from there

Part of me wants to increase faster than that, but I don’t want my shins to hurt again, and I know that most running injuries are from overuse, or doing too much, too fast (not to worry…there is nothing about my running that is too fast!).

Todays run stats:
Time: 29 minutes
Pace: 14.5 min/miles
Distance: 2 miles
Temp outside: 27 degrees (this felt SO FREAKING COLD, which then made me feel like a wimp since earlier this winter I was running in 11 degree weather).

It’s not where I was hoping to be at this point, but it’s a start. Besides…my goal is just to complete the half marathon…and I’ll keep participating in half marathons until I can run the whole damn thing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to training day

  1. I love Natalie Dee! And Toothpaste for Dinner… they’re the way I start my morning at work every day! šŸ™‚

    Good luck with the shin recovery!

  2. Kelly says:

    You are so hardcore…running in 27 degree weather is NO JOKE! šŸ™‚ You are NOT a wimp!

Leave a Reply

