keep on chuggin…

You know, I need to keep some perspective while I work on healing my shins and working back up to the distances I want to be running. If someone had told me a year ago (about the time that I started the Couch-to-5k program) that in one year’s time I would be able to run 3 miles without stopping, and that I’d consider my 2 mile run/walk program that i’m doing for my shins “boring” I probably would have stared at them like they had grown a 2nd head. One year ago running for 5 minutes was hard for me. One year ago, the idea of running a half marathon, seemed like a pipe dream. Although to be honest, there are some moments right now that the idea of running a half marathon in a few months seems impossible.
I want to run, but I don’t want to hurt my shins.
I did my 2 miles on saturday.

Time: 28 minutes
Pace: 14 min/ mil
Distance 2 miles (ran 1.2 miles)
Temp:30 degrees.
My shins felt great during this run, and after it.
So my question is….how slowly do I work back into running? Do I add at 10% per week? I’m not going to lie, when I looked at my calendar this morning and saw that on saturday I should have run 5 miles, I got a little sad….and questioned my ability to be ready to run 13.1 in 16.5 weeks. Can I up my running at a higher rate, since just a month ago I was running 3x (assuming I’m running 1 mile now, and was running 3 miles) as far?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to keep on chuggin…

  1. Kelly says:

    I think I would start back by adding in 10% per week and see how that feels. Usually shin splints are caused by too much too fast. So listen to your body and start adding back in at the 10% rate…if you are still feeling great add a little more! Keep that smile…you will totally crush 13.1 in 16 weeks!

    • slowmiles says:

      yeah…I was thinking the 10% was a good idea. Do you think I should run the same amount each day I run, or start adding more distance to Saturday runs (within the 10% increase) to get back to the short run,short run,long run type of schedule I was on before?

  2. Kelly says:

    Oh that’s a good question. I would think that it would be easier on your shins at first to run the same amount each time and then gradually increase your to your longer runs on Saturday.

  3. run4mymoney says:

    Oh, I feel your pain! I was plagued with shin splints and other leg issues throughout most of my training. New shoes actually helped, along with ice after every run and stretching. I hope it gets better for you. Good luck with your training! 13.1 miles in 16 weeks? No worries 🙂

    • slowmiles says:

      Thanks for the vote of confidence! I did recently get new shoes, and have been running on them during my “build back up period” and haven’t had any shin pain. I am good about stretching, but lately have been slacking in the icing department, as my shins aren’t in pain at the moment! I need to get back on that!

Leave a Reply

