with a little help from my friends

I did not get up and walk/run this morning, I just didn’t feel like leaving my cozy bed. I am used to this feeling on non run mornings, but until a few weeks ago when I started having shin/foot pain…I never wanted to stay in bed on a run morning. I was always awake before my alarm and excited for the new distance that I was going to run, or an old distance that I was going to be better at.

Feeling uninspired led me to feel disconcerted about running in general. I could feel myself slipping into a mindset where I was going to let myself stop running, and I don’t want that.

I logged onto facebook, and found a message from my friend Stephanie (check out her sassy blog!). She told me that she is going to be training for a half marathon! I immediately felt excited for her, and she asked me for advice/ tips on the whole running thing. And suddenly…I wanted to go running. I felt excitement for running. I couldn’t wait to get through my injuries and pain and start running long distances again.

I'm such a sap....seriously

So, thanks Steph for helping me find my motivation this morning. In fairness, I had been planning on going for a walk/run after work today (which will be lunch time, as I am only working a half day), but now I feel excited about it. I feel thankful that I can go for a walk/run…and I’m looking forward to continuing my running journey.

Now I just need to find the courage to sign up for this running team. It’s organized by the store that is sponsoring the half I want to complete in June. I think it would be a great way to get training tips etc, but to also meet other runners in the area. But…signing up for this on my own is something that scares me, pushes me out of my comfort zone. And that is exactly why I should do it. I’ve never regretted making choices that scare me….they’ve always been worth it in the end.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to with a little help from my friends

  1. Kelly says:

    YAY! I am glad you found your motivation! And I am proud of you for accepting what is! That is a hard thing and I will fully admit one that I am not great at!

      • Kelly says:

        Okay…so my friend emailed me back and said that he tried a bunch of products but that ironically the best thing he found was the Dr Scholls orthodics. He said you step on a computer thing and it spits out which model is right for you. He said it was at drugstore (HEB) pharamcy. They were $50 and he said worthh every penny…he has had NO trouble since he started with them! Hope this helps!!

  2. Sometimes we find motivation in places we wouldn’t have thought of. Congrats on finding it again 🙂 And good luck on your running.

  3. genesis says:

    woohoo for motivation. i probably shouldnt brush off the small stuff when it comes to motivation, cuz every little thing counts.

    i have trouble moving outside of my comfort zone too. thats probably why i run alone. so boring.

Leave a Reply

