Just.Keep.Running.

yeah, I totally went with the cheesy motivational poster


As much as I wanted to just get out there and run and run and run this morning, I reigned myself in. Instead of the 3.5 mile run that I would have completed had I not had shin issues….I was disciplined and did a 2 mile loop and only ran about .6 of it.

Here are my total stats (I didn’t use my Nike+, so they are rough)
Time: 29 minutes
Pace: 14.5 Min/Mil
Distance: 2 miles
Temp outside: 35 degrees.

My shin feels pretty good. I have a little bit of ice on it now, but it felt good during my short run. My foot with plantar fasciitis on the other hand, doesn’t seem to be exhibiting anysort of change, although I know the only thing to help that is time and proper shoes, I have iced it as well.

I thought alot about my breathing and my stride this morning. I know that most pain and issues during running stem from how your foot strikes the ground, how your knee does or doesn’t turn, what your hips do. I am really considering joining a training team for the half that I hope to do in June, as it includes coaches and info that I think will be valuable.

So where do I go from here? Just keep running. A little at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just.Keep.Running.

  1. Kelly says:

    I think your plan is smart…just keep running a little at a time and keep on icing your shins and feet. As for plantar facitis have ever thought about orthodics? I have a friend who had it really bad but he started using these shoe inserts (made for plantar facitis) and he said the pain is totally gone! I will find our for you the name of them are….

  2. Ez says:

    Hi
    I am also running and I am dealing with plantar fasciitis for more than a year now. There are many things you can do to treat your PF although I understood that treatment efficiency is very individual. If something works for one it may not work for the other. There are many treatment techniques that you can try.
    Did you try Taping? I have found it very useful. Taping will keep your foot from getting injured again and will help you get through your daily routine. There are a few Taping techniques you can find in YouTube – just type “Plantar Fasciitis Taping” in YouTube search.
    Personally I found a very informative website in: http://www.plantar-fasciitis-elrofeet.com
    Take care & Good luck

    • slowmiles says:

      Hello! Thanks for the info. I’ve had someone else suggest taping to me, and I need to get on that!
      I’v experience PF before, although I wasn’t running at the time–walking 3 miles a day–and it went away with stretching and making sure that I wore shoes with arch support everyday. This time, it’s in a diferent foot and acting differently. I should get some tape and try it today!

Leave a Reply

