I’m not competitive….

But I’m in a competition. A wellness competition at work, to be exact. This is the second year that my workplace has held a “wellness competition.” It started out with the idea of holding a Biggest Loser type competition, but morphed to an overall wellness comp, as many employees felt that focusing on overall health and wellness was more important than just losing weight, and let’s face it…some of the employees just don’t have weight to lose, like the police officers…and the firefighters….yum.

fire fighters from the city where I work.

Anyway, so it’s a 12 week challenge that consists of 4 mini challenges. Employees create teams and compete in the mini challenges, and for overall prizes. The mini challenges are:
1. Most miles/minutes worked out.
2. Most fruits/veggies eaten per day (aiming for 5 or higher)
3. Most weight lifted (yeah…no 0ne comes CLOSE to being the fire fighter teams on this one)
4. Protein consumption (aiming for 20 grams per meal)

This is the first time we’ve incorporated nutrition into the challenge. This year the competition is being hosted by our wellness partner, a local hospital. Which is nice, then one of my co-workers doesn’t have to know my body fat percentage.

So, we all get “assessed” at the beginning of the challenge:
Here are my starting stats:
Body Fat: 35%-done with a caliper, with my clothes on. Interestingly enough last year my body fat was done with calipers for the challenge and came back at 26%. I weigh about 3 pounds more now, but don’t feel like my body comp has changed all that much. Also, last year, the person taking measurements had my stand on both feet, weight evenly distributed, this year the person had me stand all on my left side…and pinched my right. Interesting.

And knowing that calipers have 3-5% error margin, I’m going to pretend that the number says 30%.

Like, I mentioned in my about page, I’m not aiming to lose x number of pounds by x date. I do think that I am about 20 pounds heavier than when I feel most comfortable in my skin, but I’m working on being happy about how my body is, and moves each day. I don’t really have a goal for this competition, I would just like to see myself improve. I’ve sort of been lax about my health for the past year. Yes, I’ve continued to be active, and yes I’ve continued to eat healthy food 80% of the time, but I would like to be just an eensy bit better, and eensy bit less “fluffy” around the middle. 🙂

The overall prizes are:
a) most weight loss-by percentage, as a team
b) most lean muscle mass gained-as a team
c) most inches lost

And an individual can win best overall, by being…the best in all three categories!

So in that vein, I’m turning down the cookies in my drawer that are beckoning to me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m not competitive….

  1. Kelly says:

    Awesome….knowing you (and your awesome determination) you will kick this competition’s butt! 🙂 Keep us posted!

  2. Pingback: Fin. « Slow Miles

Leave a Reply

