shoes…a girls best friend?

So, I went for my run yesterday. It should have been a 3.8 mile run, if I were on my training schedule with no pain. Instead it was a 2 mile run due to my shin pain and new training schedule.

Here are the stats:
Time: 26’26”
Pace: 13.1 mins/mil
Distance: 2 miles
Temp outside: 32 degrees.

I’ll be honest, my shin hurt the whole time. Not bad, just sort of mildly achy. I probably did the wrong thing by continuing anyway. The rest of my body felt great, my heart and lungs could have gone on for another mile. I came home and stretched and then didn’t ice, as we were rushing out the door to see my nephew.

I woke up this morning at 5:30am (my normal alarm time) and instead of being able to go back to sleep, I tossed and turn and thought about running, shin pain, and something I haven’t said anything about on the blog….heel pain/plantar fasciitis. I had plantar fasciitis about a year and half ago on my left leg. I went on vacation and wore totally improper flats for all of the walking that I did. At this point I wasn’t running, but I was walking about 3 miles a day with our dog, who was a puppy at the time. I refused to stop walking the dog, but did take other measures and eventually the plantar fasciitis cleared up, and I’ve had no problem since. Until now…but this time it is in my right foot! I’m wondering…if my new running shoes have anything to with all of this. I got them at Christmas, and prior to that I hadn’t had any shin pain (but was increasing my mileage in my old shoes at the same rate i was in my new shoes) and I certainly didn’t have any plantar pain.

asics gel nimbus 11 = the problem?

Due to my issues with plantar fasciitis in the past, I no longer go barefoot, and always wear shoes (even slippers and sandals) with arch support (I have flat feet). The heel pain started with the new shoes. I’ve been reluctant to admit they might be the problem, as they are new and were a gift from my Dad, although as a runner I think he would agree that the wrong shoe is the wrong shoe and I should get new ones.

So…do I go back to the Asic Gel Nimbus 10–that i know worked and gave me no problems? Or head to the running store and try something totally different?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to shoes…a girls best friend?

  1. Becca says:

    It may not hurt to stop by a running store and see if they have any advice. They are always great and really helpful. Good luck! I hope your feet feel better soon 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    I am a firm believer that once you find a pair of shoes that work for you…don’t change. As a runner, I think shoes are probably one of the most important investments you can make. And once you find something that works for your body…just keep with it!!!

Leave a Reply

