going backwards

Well…I didn’t trade in my shoes for a bike, but I did slooooooow down my training. I took myself back about a month, and ran 2 miles this morning. Instead of running almost 10 miles this week, I am going to run about 6.3. I’m also going to slowly increase my mileage. Instead of the standard 10% per week, I’m bumping that down to 5%.

My shins felt pretty good this morning. I didn’t have any pain during my run, and I immediately came home and iced them. I did randomly get pain in the shower!? I was facing forward and twisted my torso only to reach something behind me, and when I did that I got a pain in my shin? It was weird. They don’t hurt now though. I’m hoping that having a few good days of rest and slowing down my training keeps the pain at bay.

Here are my run stats:
Duration: 29’13”
Pace: 14.45 min/mil (oh yeah, and I ran really slowly and tried to focus on my gait)
Distance: 2 miles
Temp outside: 35 degrees.

I have to admit, I was sort of feeling defeated this morning, and like I’ll never run a half marathon. I know that isn’t the attitude to have. I kept reminding myself that slowing down, or even walking is not quitting. Not getting out of bed at all is quitting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to going backwards

  1. Kelly says:

    You WILL do it…I promise you! I know this is hard. For me running is a lifeline and when I can’t do it I am a royal bitch (for lack of a better description) but you will make it through this. One of my favorite quotes is “The only way to the other side is through it” Just get through this and I promise you will be a half marathoner finisher one day…no doubt! 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    Also thank you for the sweet comment on my blog about the “baby issue”…that was super sweet!

Leave a Reply

