oh technology…

I just got home from my 3.17 mile run. According to my nike+ I only ran 2.7 miles. I knew it was off during my run. I ran a course that I KNOW is a 5k. I’ve heard this happens with the nike+, I was just hoping it wasn’t going to happen to mine! Maybe I should calibrate it?

So, adjusted for the correct distance my run stats are:
Time: 44’52”
Pace: 14 min/mil
Distance: 3.17 Miles
Temp outside: a nice freezing..32 degrees.

So I ran walked this. I ran about 1.7 miles and then my shin was feeling it, so I ran/walked the rest of the way, with the majority of it being walking. I came home, stretched, and am icing my shin was we Speak, er…as I type.

As I was running I came up with a new running plan. One that ups my milage a little more slowly. I think I’m going to bump my weekly/daily mileage back down a bit, and not increse it for a week or two. Then…I’m going to start increasing it by 5% per week, instead of 10%. I’m hoping that this slower increase, combined with shin stretching, icing, and strengthening will take care of my shin pain. I’d been doing fine with my mileage around 7.5 miles per week.
Sometimes I forget that I am “new” to running, even though it’s something that my body is biologically built to do. I also fall into the trap of comparing myself to other people. If there is one thing I’ve learned in life, it’s that NOTHING is one size fits all, or even one size fits most. Maybe increasing my mileage by 10% per week doesn’t work for me, and maybe running 12 mile miles, is just a bit too fast. And that’s ok, I just have to find what works and is sucessfull for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to oh technology…

  1. Kelly says:

    YAY for that attitude! I love how you are embracing your own body and your own needs! No use comparing yourself to anyone else because you are uniquely you! I think your plan sounds smart and healthy! Pushing yourself too fast too soon only leads to problems and when you look at it in the scope of life…you have a lot of years of running ahead of you!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

