de la resistance

What’s the old song… “Windy” ? It was in my head this morning. In the song they talk about everyone loving Windy. Ha! I did not love the wind-y this morning! Holy crap, running against the wind sucks. I tried to convince myself that it was good training, running with resistance!

I woke up and checked the temp, a whopping 38 degrees! A heat wave! I only ran in my knock off Under Armor shirt by Danskin (found at Wal-Mart for 10 bucks! I don’t like Wal-Mart, but when plus size running gear is hard to come buy, you gotta do what you gotta do!), my normal sweat wicking shirt, my running pants and and a fleece headband. I felt so light with out my fleece coat on!

Then I stepped outside. Gah the wind was terrible. It did make it a little cooler, but I knew once I got going I would be just fine and glad that I didn’t have my fleece.

Here are my run stats:

Time: 34’16”
Pace: 13:25 min/mi
Distance: 2.54 miles
Temp: 38
Not a bad run, in fact it was a great run. I felt great for most of it, and I even at one point got lost in thought in my head, which has never happened to me before! I usually think about my run the whole time, how far I’ve come, how far I have left to go, what is sore, what isn’t sore, how my shins feel, how my lungs feel, if I am hot, if I am cold. But…for a few minutes this morning I was lost in thought, granted I was thinking about the shirt I was wearing….. I’m such a dork!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to de la resistance

  1. Awesome job on the run… I hate running but I do it because I have to. I love when I get lost in thought in my head because then time goes by much quicker. Do you have an ipod or radio? That always makes it better for me 🙂

    • slowmiles says:

      Kristen,
      Thanks for stopping by my blog. I do have an ipod, but I dont use it in the mornings when I run while it’s still dark out. I guess in my mind, it’s dangerous!

  2. Ameena says:

    Wow, if 38 degrees is a heat wave where you are, you would absolutely melt here in Los Angeles!

    Thank you for your comment, I appreciate it. 🙂

    • slowmiles says:

      I’m sure I’d like LA this time of year! It gets pretty hot here in the summer, but as long as I run early in the morning it’s not so bad.
      Thanks for your comment as well!

  3. I hate running in wind, but I hate running on ice and snow even more. I’ll have to check back to keep inspired to continue training through the winter.

  4. Kelly says:

    That is awesome! I love getting lost in my runs….it is the best feeling! The other day I got a little zoned out and accidently ended up running 14 miles…oops! 🙂

Leave a Reply

