Gear Head

My alarm goes off every morning at 5:30am. On non run days, I usually hit the snooze button 3 to 4 times. On run mornings, I used to be able to still snooze it 3 to 4 times, because the furthest I was running was like 1.36 miles. Well…now that I am running further, and have acquired a higher amount of gear, my days of snoozing are gone.

Running in the winter is the worst. It seriously takes me like 10 minutes to get myself ready.
Here is the list of everything I put on to run this morning:
2 sports bras
Running pants
Running shirt
Fleece
Hat
Gloves
iPod, set up and ready to go with my nike+
Road ID
Headlamp

…I think that is it. Oh yeah, and the most necessary run accessory—my dog.

If I have to add a pair of tights to that list, then it takes another 2-3 minutes, as I always manage to get my tights twisted.

Speaking of gear I picked up this set of running gloves and hat on Saturday at See Jane Run.

They were a little pricey, but the fleece gloves I’ve been running in a WAY too hot. Same goes for the hat that I have. Unless it’s 5 degrees out, then it’s ok.

Both the hat and gloves were perfect on my 28 degree run this morning. They have some cool features too, the hat has a little pony tail hole in the back and the gloves have a spot on the palm for a key. Love it!

Last but not least, my running stats for this mornings run:
Time: 31’38”
Pace 14:15 min/mi
Distance: 2.22 miles
Temp outside: 28 degrees.

Still that slower pace, but it’s all good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gear Head

  1. Kelly says:

    I hate running in cold too but everytime I think it is cold here and I see your post I feel like a whiney whimp!!! haha! You are such a tropper for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

