Snoooooow Slow

I woke up to snow this morning, on a “run”day. I’ve made peace with the snow. I’ve decided that I’m going to run outside always, with two exceptions a) it must be 10 degrees or warmer and b) there must be 4 inches of snow or less.

So, it was 30 degrees this morning, and there was only a dusting of snow when I went outside. I’ve lived in the West/Northwest my whole life, so I knew enough to be careful about black ice under the snow, so I ran sloooowly. Snow Slow. I didn’t encounter any ice, but I didn’t slip and fall either.

Here are my run stats:
Distance: 1.88 miles
Time: 28 Minutes
Pace: 14.8 MPM (minutes per mile, sadly not miles per minute!)

I felt pretty good during my run. I can tell that it’s getting easier for me, and that my stamina is increasing. When I first started running I wanted to quit about 3/10 of a mile in, but today I didn’t really feel it until about 1.3 miles…but I pushed through and finished the run feeling great, as opposed to the days that I have to employ every trick in the book to not take a walking break.

I know that running 1.88 miles is a long way from running 13.1, but I think I can do it.

I am increasing my overall mileage each week by only 10% so, given the fact that my longest run since June, was 2 miles—on Saturday, it’s a good thing I’m starting now.

This morning my run was DOUBLY exciting, as I got to run in new pair of pants! I’ve been wanting some new winter running pants for about 6 weeks now, and I finally ordered some. They arrived last night, perfect for my run this morning.
I ordered these (link) from Land’s End. I’ve been looking at running clothes for months online, but as we know, online shopping can be a huge pain, especially if you are shopping for an item you don’t normally buy. I read a review on these pants, and decided to give them a go.
The verdict?
THEY. ARE. AWESOME! When I first pulled them out of the package they looked a little big, which made me worry that they would slip down during my run (I had this probably with a pair of adidas pants, the elastic was all wonky) but they didn’t. They stayed up, and I stayed warm and dry. They are a little big, in that they are slightly loose, but they are comfy for running, and I would be comfortable walking into the store with them on, if I had to.

What is your favorite piece of running clothing?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snoooooow Slow

  1. You absolutely can run a half marathon and the fact that you are dedicated enough to get out and run in the snow is proof enough!

    *Check out my Heart Thrive cookie giveaway @ monicaonthego.com*

  2. slowmiles says:

    Monica-
    Thanks! I appreciate the encouragement!

  3. krissie says:

    I’m so excited about so many of us running a half! I really hope the excitement doesn’t wear off.

    My favorite running gear isn’t clothing, it’s my Nike+. Keeps me focused. And I’m such a visual person. I love looking at the charts and stuff. I also love not having to think about where I’m running before or after my run. I just go and it tells me when I’m finished.

    Merry Christmas, my friend! Keep it up!

  4. slowmiles says:

    Krissie,
    I’m excited too! I totally asked for a Nike+ for Christmas, I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

