the REAL post.

after a run in the rain


Well….this is my first post. This is actually my second blog, and I write for Examiner.com, but this is my first blog where I will be focusing on running. I’ve updated the “about” section, it’s rudimentary right now, and I’ll probably change it as we go along.

I still feel like I should give a little back ground or something to spring board this whole running blog.

I am 26 years old, almost 27. I live in Idaho with my husband and our dog. Two years ago I lost 20ish pounds. I’ve maintained that loss since then. Changing my lifestyle is something that I am incredibly proud of. I workout 5 days a week, and I walk my dog 7 days a week. Currently my cardio is running, so on those days, I run the dog. For strength training I do yoga and weights.

I’ve never been a “runner” but I’ve always wanted to be. I’ve run three races in my entire life. The Ricket’s Run, a one mile fun run in the 3rd grade, The Journal Jog with my Dad, also in the 3rd grade. My dad helped me “train” for those races. I think I might have run the whole Ricket’s Run, but we ran/walked “The Jog.” My last race was June 2009, The See Jane Run “I run for Chocolate and Champagne” 5k. For this last and most recent race I used the Couch-to-5k training program. Training for this run was the first time in my adult (being 18 and older) that I had run for more than 5 minutes. It was a big accomplishment for me. Sadly enough whoever was chalking the course for the race took a wrong turn and my 5k ended up only being about 2.5 miles. I knew right away that something was wrong, and it was confirmed when the time on the clock said less than 30 minutes. I had expected to finish in like 39 minutes, because as the name of the blog implies, I run sloooooowly.

My average pace on my morning runs is 12.5 minutes per mile. My race pace for that race was 11:30 or something. Anyway, I’m slow and that’s the point of this blog. People with running blogs are fast, and good and run A LOT. Most people who weigh over 200 pounds (as I do) and who have blogs are trying really hard to weigh less than 200 pounds, and I commend them, but it’s not me. I don’t care what I weigh (ok, I probably would if I my weight started going back up), I care about how fit I am. I care about living to an old age, I care about eating real and healthy food, I care about showing the world that one can be Healthy at Every Size.

So this blog is going to be all of those things. I’ll chronicle my morning runs, as I train for a half marathon on June. I mentioned that right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the REAL post.

  1. Krissie says:

    This is going to be so fun! Thanks for sending me this link!

Leave a Reply

